The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies

AIATSIS – located in Canberra The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) is the national research institution for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. It researches and collects information about the cultures and lifestyles and often has information about native title. It also organises the National Native Title Conference every year.

Department of Aboriginal Affairs

DEPARTMENT OF ABORIGINAL AFFAIRS – located in East Perth Responsible for the development of policy and coordinate the delivery of services to Aboriginal People, the preservation and protection of Aboriginal heritage and supports the Aboriginal Lands Trust (ALT) in the management of Aboriginal lands held by the ALT.

National Native Title Tribunal

NATIONAL NATIVE TITLE TRIBUNAL – located in Perth Established by the Native Title Act 1993 to make inquiries, conduct reviews and mediations and assist with native title applications and land use agreements (ILUAs). It also assists Representative Bodies (eg land councils) established under the Native Title Act 1993.

Office of the Register of Indigenous Corporations

ORIC – located in Perth Administers corporations established under the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2006 (CATSI Act) advising people about how to set up corporations, how to run them and to comply with the requirements under the CATSI Act. It also provides training around the country at various times for directors of corporations (CATSI Act).

WA Country Health Service

COUNTRY HEALTH SERVICES – located in most country towns A State Government health service providing health services to regional people throughout WA including hospital, aged care, community and public health and mental health services.

Australian Taxation Office

AUSTRALIAN TAX OFFICE – located in Perth Provides information for individuals, companies and organisations about tax.

© 2022 Abbotts. All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Website by [CM]
Abbott Native Title Trustees acknowledges and pays respect to our clients as the Traditional Owners of their Country and acknowledges the past, present and future Traditional Owners and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural and spiritual practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Abbott Native Title Trustees also acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land where our Perth and Port Hedland offices are located, the Whadjuk Noongar People (Perth) and Kariyarra People (Port Hedland).